World Sailing Sustainability Award

Starboard (THA), the leading manufacturer of Stand Up Paddleboards and windsurf boards, including the iQFOiL, the Paris 2024 Olympic Men's and Women's Windsurfer Equipment, have won the 2020 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award. Credit: Sailing Energy / Engadinwind 2020

In 2018, World Sailing and 11th Hour Racing joined forces to create the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award. The award celebrates the effective execution or ongoing delivery of high-impact, highly replicable sustainability initiatives aligned with the World Sailing Sustainability Agenda 2030. The award has distributed $60,000 in grants to six winners.

Winners are decided on a proportional vote from a judging panel and the public ballot. The international award applicants range from individuals, sailing clubs, events, classes, federations, and the wider marine industry. The 2023 winner will be announced at the World Sailing Awards on November 14 in Málaga, Spain.

  • Each award winner will be given a $10,000 prize to further their sustainability initiatives, and a trophy made from recycled carbon fiber.
  • The judging panel consists of World Sailing’s Sustainability Commission, World Sailing’s Sustainability Programme Manager, a representative from World Sailing’s Board, and a representative from 11th Hour Racing.
  • The award is presented alongside the Hempel Team of the Year and the Goslings Boat of the Year, the World Sailing President’s Development Award, the Beppe Croce Trophy, and The Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.


Visit the World Sailing Website

Past Winners

2023 Winner

The Magenta Project won the 2023 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award for advocating gender diversity across the sailing industry. Its nine-month mentoring program accelerates progress in their chosen field through one-on-one mentoring, expert seminars, and goal-setting. It supports up to 40 mentees annually, and with 150 female graduates so far, alumni often mentor others, assume leadership roles in sport governance, and inspire the next generation.

2022 Winner

Greenboats won the 2022 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award for pioneering the design and manufacture of natural fiber products and components, demonstrating a viable, sustainable alternative to conventional composite materials. The FLAX27 Daysailor concept boat has been tested in the harshest of marine environments and has the potential to change the footprint of sailing.

2021 Winner

Sail Africa Youth Development Foundation won the 2021 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award for increasing the participation of ethnically diverse and female sailors in Durban, South Africa. In the time since launching, the number of girls racing has increased, and podium positions have improved year after year. Sailing is now a much more multicultural sport.


Starboard won the 2020 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award for its Plastic Offset Program, reclaiming 1.1kg of plastic for every board produced. Starboard reduces its carbon emissions and compensates for unavoidable carbon emissions by planting mangrove trees 10 times over for every single board. World Sailing created a case study on Starboard’s efforts.


Royal Yachting Association (RYA)The Green Blue won the 2019 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award for its efforts to empower boaters in the United Kingdom to take action on sustainability through providing clear training and guidance on key issues.


Corpus Christi Yacht Club (CCYC) won the inaugural award in 2018 following the successful delivery of the 2018 Youth Sailing World Championships. Driven by the dedication of the CCYC volunteer Green Team, the Youth Worlds was the first World Sailing Championship with a focus on ocean conservation and sustainability.

World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award renewed through to 2024. Photo credit: Sailing Energy / Engadinwind 2020


World Sailing is the world governing body for the sport of sailing, officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee. The organization is responsible for: the promotion of the sport internationally; managing sailing at the Olympic and Paralympic Games; developing the Racing Rules of Sailing and regulations for all sailing competitions; the training of judges, umpires and other administrators; the development of the sport around the world; and representing the sailors in all matters concerning the sport. The principal members of World Sailing are the Member National Authorities and Class Associations.

In 2018, World Sailing ratified their Sustainability Agenda 2030, which outlines how the sport will contribute to the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals. The Sustainability Agenda 2030 is split up into World Sailing’s six main operational areas with 56 different targets that range from participation to gender equality, water quality to single-use plastic.